The hamlet of Sandy Park is situated at a busy crossroads where the A382 crosses the old Chagford to Drewsteignton road. The 18th Century Sandy Park Inn is the focal point of the community and is surrounded by an attractive group of listed buildings, which also includes the telephone kiosk. The granite gateposts leading to Furlong and the gateposts flanking the wide drive to Furlong Mill were erected during the rebuilding of Furlong in the mid 19th Century. Furlong House is thought to be circa 1840-1850.
The Old Smithy, which was a former blacksmith’s workshop, was converted for domestic use in 1980.
Parford House is thought to be early or mid 16th Century with later improvements and a major refurbishment in the early 20th Century together with the Ash House, Coach House and Stables.
You can walk from Sandy Park through the grounds of Castle Drogo up to Fingle Bridge, or along the Teign towards Chagford. The river Teign is popular with walkers and fishermen.
As well as the popular Sandy Park Inn, the area boasts the Mill End Hotel (which is just over the River Teign which marks the boundary of Drewsteignton Parish), and a local field is host to the annual Chagford Show (www.chagfordshow.com) once a year. The Show is held on nearby fields offering a wide range of activities and incorporating a large number of classes for horses, cattle and sheep.